top of page

Women's Prize Celebrates Female Authors

Updated: Jul 8

Award season is in full swing! The Women’s Prize for Fiction will be announced today, and they’ve also added a new prize for non-fiction this year. The Women’s Prize is a non-profit organization whose goal is to improve access to and appreciation of women’s writing for all readers. Their awards platform champions brilliant women writers in fiction and now, also non-fiction. These awards are only given to female writers who are published in the UK and the long & short lists are very impressive! Last year’s winner for Fiction was the very popular book by Barbara Kingsolver, Demon Copperhead. Below you can find the shortlists for both Fiction and Non-Fiction for 2024. On their website, you can find the longlists, and many other great reads written by female authors as well as resources for new writers.

The Women’s Prize award ceremony will be held on Thursday, June 13th, beginning at 1:45PM (EDT) and is available to stream on YouTube.

Women’s Prize for Fiction, Shortlist:

The Wren, The Wren by Anne Enright

Brotherless Night by V. V. Ganeshananthan

Restless Dolly Maunder by Kate Grenville

Enter Ghost by Isabella Hammad

Soldier Sailor by Claire Kilroy

River East, River West by Aube Rey Lescure

Women’s Prize for Non-Fiction, Shortlist:

Thunderclap: A Memoir of Art and Life and Sudden Death by Laura Cumming

Doppelganger: A Trip Into the Mirror World by Naomi Klein

A Flat Place by Noreen Masud

All That She Carried: The Journey of Ashley’s Sack, a Black Family Keepsake by Tiya Miles

Code Dependent: Living in the Shadow of AI by Madhumita Murgia

How to Say Babylon: A Jamaican Memoir by Safiya Sinclair

14 views0 comments


bottom of page